FOR Club

The Friends of Rachel Club

  • The Friends of Rachel (FOR) Club is based on Rachel’s Challenge - - a program designed to encourage good deeds and wise actions. The program was inspired by Rachel Scott, the first person to tragically lose their life at the Columbine High School shooting in 1999.

    Rachel was an amazing teenager who lived by the words she spoke. She stood up against bullying, made friends with new students and tried to make a difference every day. Rachel’s famous quote, “I have this theory that if one person can go out of their way and show compassion, it will start a chain reaction of the same. People will never know how far a little kindness will go,” became the theme of Rachel’s Challenge, and the message has spread to schools throughout the country.

    The FOR Club’s main goal is to make a positive difference in and out of school, as well as in the life of every individual. Join us to spread the inspiring ideas and practices of Rachel Scott!

    Advisors:
    Ms. Durso – ddurso@wboro.org
    Ms. Gates – agates@wboro.org
    Mr. Gerace – ngerace@wboro.org
    Ms. Kuhn – bkuhn@wboro.org
    Ms. LaScala – dlascala@wboro.org
    Ms. Militano – emilitano@wboro.org 
    Ms. Tompkins – dtompkins@wboro.org
    Ms. Venezio – jvenezio@wboro.org

    Major Activities:
    -Participate in anti-bullying activities
    -Kindness Calendar project
    -Sing holiday carols at Buck Apartments
    -Make thank you/holiday cards for area firefighters
    -Children’s book drive
    -Fundraiser to help mistreated animals
    -Walk for Autism Awareness
    -Blue and White Parade
    -Listen to guest speakers
    -Created informational video for new students

    Meeting Time and Location:
    First Thursday of every month, 2:45 – 3:30 p.m.
    Location alternates each month between the 6th Grade Building cafeteria and 7th/8th Grade Building cafeteria

    How to Join:
    All students in grades 6-8 are welcome. Just attend any meeting to join.